Looking for a simpler life, but not too simple…

Trailer

Benny can only haul 2000 pounds which means I can’t tow my truck. So I found an enclosed trailer on Craigslist. Its 6×10 and should be perfect for our traveling endeavors. I got it for pretty cheap, but its in need of a little work: a new vent hatch, new tire, new interior lights, anchoring points to strap stuff down, and most importantly, a motorcycle chock so I can bring my motorcycle with us. It has a ramp in the back, and a door on the side. I’m hoping I can get everything in there without exceeding the weight limit.

I’m bringing my motorcycle just in case we break down, and need to get to the nearest town, and just for fun. 😉

I started by putting the vent on today. I removed all the 2×4’s from the previous owner. Tomorrow  I am going to get started on putting the wheel chock in, and all the eye bolts for anchoring stuff down. I also found a 55 gallon drum today that I plan on mounting in the trailer, for storing additional veg oil for the RV.

4 responses

  1. Arp

    I must say I’m envious at your practical skills – not to mention I haven’t a clue as to what a ‘wheel chock’ is 😉

    February 15, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  2. I have been reading Tara’s blog on and off for awhile now and am pretty impressed by what you guys are doing. This is the first time I have checked out your blog and I like it. I plan to keep reading and can’t wait to compare your different perspectives of this adventure called life. Good luck and keep on bloggin

    February 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

  3. Arp, I only just learned this myself. A wheel chock is kinda like a bike rack for motorcycles – just this metal thing for the front wheel to hold the bike up.

    February 17, 2010 at 9:04 am

  4. I’m trying to talk my partner into doing the whole RV thing.. but watching you and all that work you had to do to the RV I’m not sure we could do that mess LOL. Maybe we’ll take a short trip this summer and see if we survive?? 🙂

    February 21, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

