Looking for a simpler life, but not too simple…

Benny let me down

We set out this morning to go to Death Valley, to let Benny spread his wings and see what he can do. Every thing was going good??? And then from under the dashboard a puff of smoke came, and then the engine died, the turn signals didn’t work, the radio didn’t work. Fuck this is how you repay me after all the work I’ve put into you. So we coasted to a safe spot and pulled over. I thought hmmm I bet its a fuse or a relay or maybe even a wire that grounded out. So I checked all the fuses and wires and everything seemed to be ok. So I called my Dad to see if he can come and help me figure it out. We tried to see if the engine would turn over by using a screwdriver to hit the + and the – on the solenoid but nothing happened. At this point I am at a loss, and don’t know what to do. So I called a tow company to come and pick Benny up. I guess I’ll find out more tomorrow when I talk to the mechanic. Hopefully its something simple. I would post pics but Benny doesn’t deserve any fame today he let me down. Thanks Dad for all your help. And thanks Elizabeth for the number to the tow truck.

4 responses

  1. Aww poor Benny. He didn’t mean to break down! Give him a break! He still loves you, even if you’re mad at him.

    January 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm

  2. miranda

    Hey, I thought all vehicles and mechanical machines were female. Maybe Benny is pissed because a. you named her Benny and b, because you keep calling her “he”. Just saying…

    January 15, 2010 at 7:51 am

  3. It’s all about expectations. So much riding on the maiden voyage, pressure as the leader, moving the tribe on a new adventure. It’s a machine, they break. Like I tell my son every time his prized lego creation hits the floor scattering debris into several directions… everything is fixable.

    Enjoy the journey. Hard to swallow as your sitting on the side of the road, but be ready, Benny will break down again.. farther from home and family. The quote “proper prior planning prevents piss poor performance” can only go so far with attempting to prevent quirks in machines. Eager to hear what the solution is! Stay strong. =)

    January 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

  4. Scott Dietrich

    Sorry to here brother! I like what shane said! Expectations can lead to let downs! We just had to replace rear outer axle seal, replace airspring and She needs front brakes and probably new rotor’s . Its really frustrating! Tiff says mercury and mars are in retrograde? Which means I dont know exactly what but luckily planets move energy changes. You ll be laughing about the maiden voyage soon enough! PEACE and LOVE! Scott

    January 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

